Industry 4.0 represents a transformation in the manufacturing and industrial sectors driven by technological advancements. It entails the integration of digital technologies, automation, data exchange, and the Internet of Things (IoT) into various aspects of industrial processes and production to enhance efficiency.

To assist enterprises in navigating the Industry 4.0 transformation, NSTDA has introduced the Industry 4.0 Platform as a comprehensive one-stop-service center. This platform comprises three core components:

  • 0 Maturity: This component offers readiness assessment services utilizing the Thailand i4.0 Index as a tool to provide step-by-step guidance.
  • 0 Consulting: Technical consultation services are provided by experts from diverse fields, offering recommendations and guidance on areas such as investment, research and development, technology transfer, testing, and analysis.
  • 0 Training: Training services focus on skill development to prepare employees at all levels to effectively harness technological advancements with a variety of courses designed for system integrators (SIs), assessors, and high-level management.

At the outset of the Industry 4.0 transformation process lies the readiness assessment. NSTDA, in collaboration with the Federation of Thai Industries (FTI) and with financial support from the Digital Economy and Society Development Fund, developed the Thailand i4.0 Index. This index serves as a tool to evaluate enterprise’s readiness in 6 dimensions:

  1. Technology
  2. Smart operation
  3. IT system & data transaction
  4. Market & customers
  5. Strategy & organization
  6. Human capital

To incentivize companies to embrace the Industry 4.0, the Board of Investment (BOI) has introduced investment promotion measures aimed at supporting the Industry 4.0 transformation.  The measures include a 3-year corporate income tax exemption that covers 100% of the investment made in Industry 4.0 upgrades. Companies are required to submit their Industry 4.0 transformation investment plans, which must be approved by NSTDA, and fully implement their upgrade plans within three years.